VIRGIN MOBILE
Reinventing the online buying journey to deliver peace of mind about mobile.
VIRGIN MOBILE

The project

To create a simpler, more fluid buying journey on Virgin Mobile, reflecting the brand's trademark quirky style, as part of the overhaul of the online store.

The ambition

To increase the online conversion rate with an enhanced customer experience, accessible on all devices, and to make our client the leading digital player in its market.

Our response Our stance

A responsive-design online store with simplified buying journeys

In response to greater customer volatility and falling market prices, we created a device-independent website with multiple buying journeys, and identified key touch points where the mobile telephony brand could showcase its knowledge and expertise.


A unique user experience

We wanted prospects and customers to develop a genuine relationship with the brand, so we needed to develop simpler, more intuitive and compelling journeys that genuinely helped customers to find what they needed at the right price. We completely overhauled the design of the website by developing a brand-new architecture and features, as well as an appealing visual style that reflected the brand’s quirky tone. We also had two technical challenges to surmount – making the code more stable and, in turn, making the site easier to maintain. On these aspects, we worked directly with Virgin's Mobile’s CIO.

Simplifying and promoting Virgin’s offering When deciding how to overhaul the organisation of the website, we considered the various possible scenarios and looked to deliver a clearer, more transparent buying experience. We then established a framework that presented the most suitable offer for each customer’s needs, based on the predefined user contexts.
 

Creating a bespoke, flexible and scalable platform We realised that our solution had to be able to adapt to complex situations, such as regularly updated sales campaigns, new offerings and different devices. We combined Symfony 2 with front-end technologies such as bootstrap and AngularJS to deliver an easy-to-administer front-end, capable of responding quickly to the fast-paced nature of the mobile telephony market. We also used a J2EE gateway to keep the front-end entirely separate from back-office order management processes. By combining these two areas of expertise, we were able to deliver a robust yet scalable solution.

Adopting a multi-disciplinary approach, internally and externally One of the key challenges of this project was to ensure that Virgin Mobile’s communication, marketing and information systems teams were fully involved and kept up to speed at all times. We therefore organised and led a series of discussion and practical workshops with these teams, where we identified each business line’s key priorities and imperatives and proposed relevant design and technical solutions.

Delivering design and technology support We managed the overhaul end-to-end to create a fluid buying journey, focusing on 40 key screens and building a custom, targeted team for the project. We had to turn the project around to short time scales and had to ensure flawless coordination between design and delivery.

The result
An always-accessible e-commerce site offering a visually appealing, user-centric buying experience that guides customers through the buying process right through to conversion.
1,500 man-days
1,500 man-days
40 key screens
40 key screens
8-month project
8-month project
VIRGIN MOBILE
Jean-Luc ACHARD
CIO, Virgin Mobile
A win-win partnership
Here at Virgin Mobile, we are currently making a deliberate transition to digital. One of the first stages in this process was to overhaul our online store. We don't just use our e-store to sell mobile tariffs. We use it to handle often complex promotions, upsell devices, and deliver flexible and scalable buying journeys. It therefore needs to be flexible enough to respond to the fast-paced nature of the market we operate in. We turned to Niji to help us realise this ambition, and we weren't disappointed. They turned the project around to extremely tight time scales, and assigned the right people and skills to the job. The new site launched a year ago, and we now have a solid technical foundation that's enabled us to handle change requests effortlessly.
Other similar projects
SEPHORA

We overhauled the look and feel of the business app, allowing sales staff to provide targeted, personalised offers based on loyalty card information.

SEPHORA

LE DUFF

We provided consulting services and produced a detailed roadmap to provide a clear overview of the outlet and customer journey digitisation process for two of the food giant's flagship brands.

LE DUFF

Chabadog

We helped our start-up client to define the fundamental aspects of its brand identity. We created a showcase to host distributors in a leading marketplace, combining well-being advice and services for cats and dogs. 

Chabadog

BIMEDIA

We overhauled the look and feel of the client's on-board software in its payment terminals for press and cigarette dispensers. In total, there are more than 6,000 machines installed at more than 5,000 local outlets.

BIMEDIA

VIRGIN MOBILE
Réinventer le parcours d’achat online pour rester détendu du mobile.
VIRGIN MOBILE
Le projet

Simplifier et fluidifier les parcours d’acquisition sur Virgin Mobile, en cohérence avec le ton décalé de la marque, dans le cadre de la refonte de la boutique en ligne.
 

L'ambition

Augmenter le taux de transformation on-line, avec un dispositif d’achat revu, accessible à tout moment sur tous les supports et devenir ainsi l’acteur de référence du digital sur son marché.
 

Notre réponse Nos partis pris

Une e-boutique en responsive design aux parcours complexes réinventés

Pour faire face à la volatilité des clients et aux baisses conséquentes des prix du marché, nous avons imaginé un site accessible sur tous les écrans, aux multiples parcours d’achat et identifié les moments stratégiques où interviennent l’expertise et le savoir-faire de la marque de téléphonie mobile.


Une expérience utilisateur unique

Afin de tisser une véritable relation avec les prospects et clients, nous nous sommes focalisés sur chaque parcours, simplifiant, guidant et scénarisant l’acte d’achat pour aider le client à s’y retrouver parmi les différentes propositions commerciales et l’aider à faire le meilleur choix au juste prix. La refonte intervient à la fois au niveau design via une remise à plat de l’architecture, du fonctionnel, d’un univers graphique fort dans le respect du ton décalé de la marque. Mais également avec un double enjeu technique : fiabiliser le code et rendre la maintenance plus aisée par la suite. Pour cela nous nous sommes interfacés avec la DSI de Virgin Mobile.

Simplifier et valoriser l’offre opérateur Afin de revoir en profondeur l’organisation du site, nous avons identifié les différents scénarios possibles et nous avons ensuite cherché comment rendre l’intégralité de ces parcours d’achat plus lisibles. Nous avons ensuite réalisé un véritable écrin, pour présenter l’offre la plus en adéquation aux besoins de chacun, selon les contextes d’usages ainsi pré-définis.
 

Créer une plateforme sur mesure, souple et évolutive Pour permettre de faire face aux changements réguliers de l’animation commerciale, aux nouvelles offres et terminaux, nous avons choisi de relever le challenge avec une solution qui s’adapte parfaitement à une situation complexe. Avec Symphony 2 associé à des technologies Front comme bootstrap & AngularJS,  nous avons proposé un Frontal facilement administrable qui permet de gérer de manière très réactive les évolutions rapides des offres du marché de la téléphonie mobile. La stabilité de la plateforme repose également sur un fort découplage du front et des process back-office de gestion de la commande au travers d’une gateway réalisée  en techno J2EE. C’est l’assemblage de ces deux savoir-faire qui permet d’allier robustesse et évolutivité.

Proposer une démarche multidisciplinaire en interne et externe Une des clés de la réussite de ce projet était d’embarquer à un même niveau d’information et de compétences les équipes de communication, de marketing et le système d’information de Virgin Mobile. Pour cela, nous avons organisé et piloté plusieurs ateliers avec les équipes pour échanger et travailler afin de déterminer et structurer les éléments prioritaires pour chaque métier, selon leurs contraintes et proposer des réponses design et techniques.

Offrir un accompagnement design et technologies Cette refonte a été orchestrée de bout en bout, pour un parcours d’acquisition fluide, avec une véritable industrialisation de 40 écrans clés et une équipe constituée sur mesure, selon les problématiques rencontrées, dans des délais particulièrement courts et une parfaite coordination entre le design et le delivery.
 

Au final
Un site marchand, accessible en toute situation, qui propose une expérience d’achat scénarisée, recentrée sur les besoins de l’utilisateur et qui guide l’acte d’achat, jusqu’à sa transformation finale.
1500 j/ homme
1500 j/ homme
40 écrans clés
40 écrans clés
8 mois de projet
8 mois de projet
VIRGIN MOBILE
Jean-Luc ACHARD
DSI Virgin Mobile
Un partenaire efficace et impliqué
Dans le cadre de notre projet d’entreprise de renforcement de la « digitalisation » de la marque Virgin Mobile, une des premières étapes a consisté à refondre l’espace de vente en ligne : l’e-boutique. Au-delà de la commercialisation « simple » de forfaits mobiles, l’e-boutique assure la gestion, parfois complexe, de promotions, de ventes additionnelles de mobiles, de parcours d’achats souples et évolutifs….avec une grande liberté de paramétrage pour permettre les actions réactives nécessaires dans un marché en constant mouvement. Pour faire face à ces exigences, Niji a été un partenaire efficace et impliqué qui a su mobiliser dans des délais très courts, les interlocuteurs et compétences adaptés au projet. Après plus d’un an d’utilisation, le socle des développements réalisés a permis de s’adapter sans contrainte aux nombreuses demandes d’évolution.
D'autres projets sur le même thème
SEPHORA

Projet de refonte ergonomique et graphique de l’application métier pour permettre aux vendeurs de proposer des offres ciblées et personnalisées à partir des informations présentes sur les cartes de fidélité.

SEPHORA

LE DUFF

Mission de conseil et roadmap détaillée pour donner une vision claire des différentes étapes nécessaires à la digitalisation des points de vente pour deux enseignes phares du Groupe alimentaire et dans le parcours client.

LE DUFF

Chabadog

Accompagnement d’une start-up dans la définition des fondamentaux de son identité de marque. Création d’un écrin pour accueillir les distributeurs au sein d’une marketplace de référence, alliant conseils et services pour le bien-être des chats et des chiens. 

 

Chabadog

BIMEDIA

Refonte ergonomique et graphique de solutions logicielles embarquées dans le terminal de paiement dédié aux points presse et bureaux de tabac. Au total, plus de 5000 commerces de proximité équipés de plus de 6000 caisses enregistreuses.

BIMEDIA